New York State Parks: day-use fees and free entry for 4th graders
Low costOutdoorsNew York
Most New York State Parks charge a vehicle use fee of $6 to $10 for day use; historic sites generally charge $1 to $6. New York State Parks accepts the National Park Service Every Kid Outdoors pass for free entry for 4th grade students into all State Parks.
Who it's for: Everyone; 4th graders with an Every Kid Outdoors pass
How: Present the Every Kid Outdoors pass at the park entrance. Contact the facility for when fees are charged and for pool or shelter fees.
Source: official page · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
New York State Parks: Golden Park Program (age 62+)
FreeOutdoorsNew York
Free vehicle entry to most state parks, boat launch sites and arboretums Monday-Friday (except holidays), plus reduced fees at state historic sites and state-operated golf courses. Not valid at Walkway Over the Hudson, Earl W. Brydges Artpark, Lake Superior State Park, Fahnestock Winter Park, Mark Twain State Park, Soaring Eagles Golf Course and Ganondagan State Historic Site.
Who it's for: New York State residents age 62 or older
How: Show a current NY State driver license or non-driver ID at the park entrance; no application. Locations with pay stations: contact the facility.
Source: official page · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
New York State Parks: Access Pass (residents with disabilities)
FreeOutdoorsNew York
Free or discounted use of state parks, historic sites and recreational facilities, including free vehicle entry to most state parks and DEC day-use areas, free greens fees at State Park golf courses, free State Park pool entrance, and discounted camping and cabin rentals.
Who it's for: New York State residents with disabilities (as defined in the application)
How: Apply for the pass; the page says it may take up to one month to arrive, so apply well in advance. Not valid at some concessionaire-operated facilities.
Source: official page · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
New York State Parks: Lifetime Liberty Pass (veterans and Gold Star families)
FreeOutdoorsNew York
Free vehicle entry to most state-operated parks and DEC day-use areas, free entry to state historic sites and arboretums, free swimming, tennis, cross-country skiing and greens fees, and discounted camping and cabins. Pass never expires once issued.
Who it's for: New York State residents who are Veterans or Gold Star parents, spouses or children
How: Order the free pass, or show a NY DMV ID with Veteran status at staffed facilities.
Source: official page · more · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
New York State Parks: Empire Pass (unlimited day-use vehicle entry)
DiscountedOutdoorsNew York
Paid pass (one season, multi-season or Lifetime) that provides unlimited day-use vehicle entry to most state parks and recreation facilities, including State Dept. of Environmental Conservation facilities. A pass can pay off for frequent visitors versus the $6 to $10 per-visit vehicle fee.
Who it's for: Everyone (paid pass)
How: Buy through the NY State Parks store. Price is not stated on the passes page, so check the store.
Price not stated on the official passes page; not listed here.
Source: official page · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
Some of these list examples from specific libraries or states; check that the program is offered where you live.
Museums for All (SNAP EBT card admission)
Low costProgram / passMultiple states
Free to $5 admission for up to 4 people per SNAP EBT card at participating museums (1,600+ nationwide). EBT cards from any state are accepted.
Who it's for: EBT cardholders
How: Bring your EBT card and a photo ID. No registration. Each museum sets its own rate and some ask for walk-in purchase, so check the museum page.
Participating list by state: see source. Rates vary by museum.
Source: official page · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
Bank of America Museums on Us
Free days / free for someProgram / passMultiple states
Free general admission on the first full weekend of every month to Bank of America, Merrill or Bank of America Private Bank credit or debit cardholders at participating museums. Next weekend: Nov 7-8, 2026.
Who it's for: Bank of America / Merrill cardholders
How: Show your active card and a government photo ID. One general admission per cardholder; special exhibitions excluded. Check the museum's listing on the Bank of America map.
Not a Bank of America endorsement; this is an informational listing with no affiliation.
Source: official page · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
Every Kid Outdoors (4th grade pass)
FreeProgram / passMultiple states
2026-27 school year pass: free entry at federal lands and waters (national parks, wildlife refuges, etc.) for the 4th grader, all children under 16 and up to 3 adults in one private vehicle. Expires Aug 31, 2027.
Who it's for: Families with a 4th grader
How: The 4th grader completes a short online activity and prints a paper voucher at EveryKidOutdoors.gov (we never collect any information). Does not cover state parks, parking, camping or tours.
Source: official page · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.
Library museum and park passes
DiscountedProgram / passMultiple states
Many public libraries lend or reserve free or discounted passes for museums, zoos, farms and parks. Examples: Boston Public Library lists Boston Children's Museum at $12 per person for up to 4; Oxford (MA) and Athol (MA) list free-admission passes to several museums; Attleboro (MA) lists a free RISD Museum pass.
Who it's for: Library cardholders (rules vary by library)
How: Search your own library's website for 'museum passes'. Each library has its own pass list, reservation system and return rules. Passes are limited and set by the participating attractions.
Example pages only; your library's list will differ.
Source: official page · more · more · more · Last verified 2026-10-17. Confirm hours and prices with the venue.